Three dimensions of evolution

From Anthroposophy

Evolution proceeds along three dimensions that we can call:

  • Conditions of Consciousness (CoC)
  • Conditions of Life (CoL)
  • Conditions of Form (CoF)

In theosophical literature CoL and CoF are also called rounds and globes, in Christian terminology they are called kingdom and glory.

We can imagine the cosmos as an eternal fractal-like evolution that rolls off along a breathing dynamic, whereby the three dimensions mentioned are the stages in three levels of that breathing dynamic.

At the highest level, each planetary stage of evolution gives rises to a CoC as the result of an outbreathing followed by an inbreathing, a process consisting of mantavara and pralaya stages. However one such CoC can also be seen as smaller breaths called CoL, also with minor pralayas in between. And the CoL can also be said to go through a number of CoF stages.

Another way of viewing this is through superimposing various level of cosmic breathing from spiritual entities at different levels.

A stage of awake daytime emanation into the spirit, astral and physical world is called a 'manvantara'. Between two manvantaras takes place what is called a 'pralaya', a state of transition, of 'disappearance' (in the higher spiritual) or of deep sleep. Note this sequence takes place at different levels: at CoC (between planetary stages), at CoC (between 'rounds) .. but als at an even higher level at the end or beginning of a solar system.

Our current experience of time has to do with the conditions of space and time in a certain subphase of Earth development, as we are currently in:

  • CoC: fourth, Earth
  • CoL: fourth, mineral
  • CoC: fourth, physical (and lowest)
  • epoch: fifth of Aryan or PostAtlantean (after Polarian, Hyperborean, Lemurian, Atlantean)
  • cultural age: fifth or anglo-german (after ancient Indian, Persian, Egyptian, Greco-Roman)


Schema FMC00.093 gives an overview of the different dimensions that roll off in one another in the great cosmic evolution


Schema FMC00.057 illustrates the levels of Conditions of Consciousness (CoC), Life (CoL) and Form (CoF). See also Prajapatis

Schema FMC00.203 shows the first six planetary stages in the overview of solar system evolution, to point out that for the evolution of Mankind, there is always only one but different CoL that is important per planetary stage. On Earth that is the current mineral CoL, on Future Jupiter it will be the plant CoL. On Old Moon Mankind was still at the level of the third EK, see The elementary kingdoms


Schema FMC00.057A is the schema specifically within one planetary stage, like Earth:


Lecture coverage and references


Related pages

References and further reading