Seven creative spirits

From Anthroposophy

With reference to Schema FMC00.06: The three Gunas or aspects of the Three Logoi [1] allow for seven different combinations [2]. These seven combinations of the gunas are called the 'Seven Creative Spirits before the throne' as mentioned four times in the Book of Revelation. They are also called the seven rules or mights, in theosophy they are called the monads. Each of them is each of them acting like an original Logos.

The seven Creative Spirits are involved in the process of creation at the highest level, at the nirvana plane right below the three logoi, together with the Prajapatis.

Their seven-folded nature can be seen in seven-foldedness across many concepts in spiritual science, as elements of creation can be seen as bursting like light into seven rays (see below). Figure [3] represents this inherent three- and seven foldedness which we also find back in the symbol of the Mystical Lamb.

The Seven Creative Spirits perform the state transitions on the nirvana plane.


Schema FMC00.061 shows the relation between the seven spirits and the three Logoi:


Schema FMC00.063 shows the qualities of the seven


Schema FMC00.068 shows original drawings of the Mystical Lamb symbol by people who attended the lecture in 1907.


Lecture coverage and references

  • References in Book of Revelation (not exhaustive)
    • Revelation 4:5: And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God.
    • Revelation 5:6: And I beheld, and, lo, in the midst of the throne and of the four beasts, and in the midst of the elders, stood a Lamb as it had been slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God sent forth into all the earth.
  • In 1904-07-02-GA089, Steiner links these qualities to the planetary stages, and specifically:

Let us think of this spread among seven planets. In truth, all seven are present, but one of them always has the power (the others hold lesser offices). If we take the fourth orb, it is ours. The device for us is therefore: 'The Father principle veils itself in the Word and reveals itself to the Spirit'. And that is Christianity. With this Cherub we have the key word and hence also the meaning of Christianity.

  • An explanation for the above, see also the symbol for the Mystical Lamb, is given in the following excerpt from in 1907-04-22-GA104a:

    The lamb receives the book with the seven seals. “And between the throne and the four living creatures and among the elders, I saw a lamb standing, as though it had been slain, with seven horns and with seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth.” (Rev. 5:6) The seven corners of the sign are called “horns.” But what do the “eyes” mean? In occult schools the signs of the seven planets are written next to the seven eyes. The seven eyes signify nothing other than the seven planets, while the names of the planets designate the spirits incarnated in them as their intelligence.


On which plane

Theosophy calls these creative spirits monads and states they are brought forth first by the First logos, and puts them on the para-nirvana plane. However following the process logic of the Three Logoi, this appears impossible.

Note: in 1904-11-10-GA089 is stated: seven creative spirits and prajapatis both on the nirvana plane.

Sevenfold aspect of creation - Seven rays

The concept of the multiplicity of these seven aspects comes back in the whole of creation. We 'seven rays' are part of many ancient traditions, sources go back to at least the sixth century BC. It was brought back to actuality the 19th century theosophy by H.P.B. Blavatsky, see eg the book on the seven rays by Ernest Wood. Later the concept was also used by Alice Bailey.

The seven-branch menorah candle and Isaiah 11:2

The seven branched menorah candle-holder is an ancient symbol in Judaism, and the statement in Isaiah 11 which also makes mention of seven spirits. Most literature (all interpretation) about the Seven Spirits of God is based on Isaiah 11:2..

The Spirit of the Lord will rest on him, the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of might, the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the Lord .. and he will delight in the fear of the Lord.

Relation to spiritual hierarchies

The connection between the Seven creative spirits and the 21 (= 7*3) Prajapatis and the connection with the First Hierarchy (with Seraphim and Cherabim) is not clearly laid out or explicitly described.

As per above quote of 1904-07-02-089, as well as others (see Twelve guiding spirits), a reference is made not to Christ, but to the corresponding Budhi force mapping to a Cherub.

Regarding Cherubim: in 1912-04-07-GA136 the functional scope of a Cherub is described as 'the harmonic regulation of the combined movements of the planets' thereby mapping to a planetary system.

.. brought into due order with the whole planetary system .. the movements of the planets are also so arranged that they harmonize. The harmony of movement between one planet and another corresponds to the activity of the Cherubim. The regulation of the combined movements of the system is the work of the Cherubim.  

And 1911-11-14-GA132 explains how backward beings arise on Old Sun as a consequence of the Cherubim renunciation of the sacrifice made by the Thrones, how that way the 'gods create their own opponents', the backward Luciferic beings.

Related pages

References and further reading